Scientific Advisory Board


Dr. Russell Outcalt

R. Outcalt Consulting, LLC


  • Pursued Ph.D. in Chemistry from Rutgers University

  • 8 years at Merck in R&D and manufacturing division

  • Supported physical characterization, API phase selection and evaluation of more than 50 compounds in all stages of development

  • Expert in solid-state characterization, polymorphism, co-crystal screening, chiral resolution, and nanoparticle engineering


Prof. Naír Rodríguez-Hornedo

University of Michigan


  • Developed a research program based on molecular-mechanistic approaches, founded on the premise that the concepts of supramolecular chemistry and crystal engineering

  • Serve on the FDA Advisory Committee for Pharmaceutical Sciences

  • Serve on the editorial boards of Crystal Growth and Design, Molecular Pharmaceutics and Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences

  • Awards include Ebert Prize for the best article published in the Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences in 2005


Dr. Elizabeth Vadas

InSciTech Inc.


  • 22-year experience at Merck Frosst, former head of Department of Pharmaceutical Research and Development, responsible from early compound characterization to formulation and process development of new chemical entities including the supply of clinical trial materials from phase I through phase III and technical transfer to manufacturing

  • Key contributor on formulation development of SINGULAIR® and several other products that lead to worldwide regulatory approval

  • Past president of CSPS, elected Fellow of AAPS and Fellow of CSPS, adjunct professor of pharmaceutics at the University of Montreal


Prof. Lian Yu

University of Wisconsin

Solid-state Chemistry

  • Leading researcher on solid-state chemistry

  • Research areas focused on polymorphism, crystallization of organic glasses, and molecular motions in solids.

  • Honors include Elected Fellow of AAPS, Lilly Research Laboratories President's Award, and Invited Visiting Professorship at the University of Manchester, and David Grant Research Achievement Award in Physical Pharmacy from American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists